WE INSIST!                              ITALY

Distr.  : IT -
          US - Forced Exposure
Style   : jazz / free improv / experimental /

CDWEIN  002     PIPELINE                8 PRAYER                        CD      07.2019

        01.     I Do Not Believe
        02.     Traces
        03.     Joy
        04.     Prayer
        05.     The Rent
        06.     A Lacy Sunday (Pipeline 8)
        07.     (Around Blinks) Trickles

Another great project conceived by Giancarlo Locatelli and dedicated to the music
of Steve Lacy. This time Locatelli presents a full octet line-up featuring some of
the best Italian improvisers: Gabriele Mitelli (trumpet), Sebi Tramontana (trombone),
Gianmaria Aprile (el. guitar), Luca Tilli (cello) Alberto Braida (piano), Andrea
Grossi (bass), and Cristiano Calcagnile (drums). Musicians from different generations
and backgrounds -- jazz, classical music, free improv, experimental rock. A great
collective piece of work. Liner notes by John Corbett. CD version includes an
additional track.
CDWEIN  003     GIANCARLO NINO LOCATELLI : SITUATIONS                   CD      07.2019

        01.     Situations (Take 2)
        02.     Esteem
        03.     The Dumps
        04.     Absence
        05.     Blues For Aida
        06.     Cette Fois
        07.     No Baby
        08.     Trickles
        09.     Morning Joy
        10.     Situations (Take 1)
        11.     The Crust
        12.     Blues For Aida

Clarinetist Giancarlo Nino Locatelli can be considered the Italian greatest Steve
Lacy expert. Situations is a solo clarinet immersion through the music of the great
American soprano sax player. Locatelli catches the essence of Lacy's music through
a series of creative renditions of historical compositions such as "Morning Joy",
"Blues For Aida", and "Trickles". A very important statement furtherly enhanced by
Jason Weiss's liner notes, author of Steve Lacy: Conversations (2006). CD version
includes two additional tracks.
CDWEIN  005     ANDREA GROSSO BLEND 3 : LUBOK                           CD      07.2019

        01.     Prologue
        02.     Mendicus (Part 1)
        03.     Mendicus (Part 2)
        04.     Iwato
        05.     Ru-Bok
        06.     MC
        07.     SnailFail
        08.     SnailTale
        09.     Van Gundy's Retreat

Andrea Grossi is a young and extremely talented double bass player and Blend 3 is
his trio, featuring alto sax player Manuel Calliumi and guitarist Michele Bonifati.
The group explores the diverse sound aspects of a trio format that, without a
preconceived set, utilizes composition and improvisation as its only resources.
This is some sort of chamber jazz where each sound controls its own development to
remain suspended and constantly communicative. Nonetheless, sudden nervous and
electric transgressions sometimes burst abruptly.
CDWEIN  006     TILLI/TRAMONTANA        DOWN AT THE DOCKS               CD      07.2019

        01.     parte1
        02.     parte2
        03.     parte3
        04.     parte4
        05.     parte5
        06.     parte6
        07.     parte7
        08.     parte8

Trombonist Sebi Tramontana is mostly known as member of the Italian Instabile
Orchestra and for his collaboration with European improv luminaries such as Joelle
Leandre, Paul Lovens, and Carlos Zingaro. In Down At The Docks, Tramontana is in
close company with cello player Luca Tilli. This is a strong free improv album.
A genuine and profound dialogue for trombone and cello, full of allusions, rips,
bursts of humor, and sudden gusts of poetry.