KOKO MUSIC                              UK

Distr.  : UK - Boomkat/
          US - Forced Exposure/
Style   : jazz / fusion /

KKM     01      ANDY BEY                SHADES OF BEY                   2LP     02.2019

        1.      Like A Love (O Cantador)                        04:42
        2.      Midnight Blue                                   05:48
        3.      Get It Straight (Straight No Chaser)            06:27
        4.      Pretty Girl (The Starcrossed Lovers)            05:18
        5.      River Man                                       04:21
        6.      Dark Shadows                                    06:19
        7.      Believin' It (Half & Half)                      03:43
        8.      Some Other Time                                 04:11
        9.      The Last Night Of Evening (Blood Count)         07:18
        10.     Drume Negrita (Afro-Cuban Lullaby)              02:56
                (Note : double LP , gatefold)

Introducing a new label, Koko Music, founded in West London by a long time friend
of ours. Their first release: 'Allegedly Coltrane's favourite singer, Andy Bey
recorded as vocalist for Max Roach ('Members, Don't Git Weary'), Horace Silver
('Won't You Open Up Your Senses'), Gary Bartz ('Celestial Blues') and Stanley Clarke
in the late sixties/early seventies. He released one solo album and then disappeared
from view for 20 years, resurfacing in the nineties. This 1998 album showcases his
four-octave range, the intimacy of love songs and raw power of the blues on a mixture
of standards ('Pretty Girl', 'Some Other Time'), Latin ('O Cantador', 'Drume Negrita'),
modern (Nick Drake's 'River Man'), and a couple of original tunes. Available for the
first time on vinyl, cut at 45rpm, it features Andy on vocals and on piano, with
appearances from Gary Bartz and Geri Allen.

        1.      Waltz To Heaven
        2.      New Life
        3.      Chazz
        4.      Portrait Of A Black Woman - For Mae Francis Owens
        5.      Lyons Street
        6.      Elegy For Fannie Lou

(Note : LP , first time vinyl edition, Mastered and cut at D&M, pressed by Pallas)