GRIT OVER GLAMOUR                       UK

Distr.  : UK - Norman/Piccadilly/
          US - Forced Exposure
Style   : 

GOG     001     BRIX & THE EXTRICATED   BREAKING STAGE                  CD      11.2018
GOG     002     BRIX & THE EXTRICATED   BREAKING STAGE                  LP      11.2018
                (Note : LP , transp.-purple vinyl)

        1.      Alaska
        2.      H.C.
        3.      Dogface (Lost In Gdansk)
        4.      Prime Numbers
        5.      American Skies
        6.      Vanity
        7.      Sleazebag
        8.      Going Strong
        9.      Heavy Crown
        10.     Unrecognisable

Brix & The Extricated return with Breaking State, on which they have pushed the sonic
boundaries set by their debut, Part 2 (2017). While retaining much of what was loved
about Part 2, this record demonstrates musical muscle and rapid growth of artistic
intent. While the sonic thread of their time in The Fall is still clearly evident,
there are many surprises and unexpected corners throughout Breaking State. This album
is packed with seriously infectious choruses and killer guitar work. Each of the ten
songs is rifled with the gut-wrenching power chords, driving riffs and technical
dexterity of Jason Brown's guitar contrasted against the delicate beauty of Steve
Trafford's moody, atmospheric, transportative soundscapes. Smith Start comes into her
own as a vocalist here delivering every word with intent while emotionally engaging
the listener and resetting the bar of expectation stepping out of preconceived,
conditioned perceptions of previously well-trodden paths. Vocally, we hear a voice
that ranges from vulnerable delicacy to the battle cry of a warrior. The addition of
strings adds a surprise multi-dimensional emotional texture throughout, seamlessly
supporting Start's message. At times the strings hark back to the golden age of
Hollywood glamour, resulting in a wonderful collision where MGM meets post-punk rainy
Manchester. Lyrically,this album is a metamorphosis and transformation moving from
black-and-white to full blown Technicolor. Breaking State is a deeply personal album,
written from truth.