AKENATON                                EGYPT

Distr.  : EG -
          US - Forced Exposure
Style   : reissue /

AKENAT  002     V / A                   CAMBODIAN NUGGETS               LP      06.2019

        01.     Ros Serey Sothea - Jam 10 Kai Thiet
                (Wait 10 More Months)
        02.     Yol Aularong - Yuvajon Kouge Jet (Broken Hearted Man)
        03.     Pan Ron - Why Follow Me
        04.     Tet Somnang & Meas Samon - Khnyom Jah Karake
        05.     Houy Meas & Dara Chom Chan - Nek Na Min Rom
                (Who Isn't Dancing)
        06.     Choun Malai - Jomreang Oun Chreang
        07.     Sinn Sisamouth - Navy A Go Go
        08.     Liev Tuk - Rom Sue Sue (Dance Soul Soul)
        09.     Thra Kha Band - Do You No Wrong Again
        10.     Yol Aularong & Liev Tuk - Sou Slarp Kroam Kombut Srey
                (Rather Die Under The Woman's Sword)
        11.     Eng Nary - I Wonder
        12.     Baksey Cham Krong + Mol Kamach - De Quoi Pleures-Tu

Before the Khmer Rouge took power in 1975, unleashing a horrifying genocide, Cambodia
had one of the most vibrant and exciting music scenes in Asia. With a mixture of
traditional Khmer music and a myriad of western genres (from French and Latin music,
to rock-and-roll, rhythm-and-blues, surf, psychedelia, soul, and many more) the few
pre 75 Cambodian recordings that survived-most of them were destroyed-are enough to
make anyone with a taste for good music shocked by the amazing quality of the sounds
created during those golden years. Gathered on Cambodian Nuggets are some of the most
talented and unique musicians from that amazing era with an explosive collection of
tracks sure to blow the mind of the listener. A celebration of some of the best music
ever made. Features Ros Serey Sothea, Yol Aularong, Pan Ron, Tet Somnang & Meas Samon,
Houy Meas & Dara Chom Chan, Choun Malai, Sinn Sisamouth, Liev Tuk, Thra Kha Band,
Yol Aularong & Liev Tuk, Eng Nary, and Baksey Cham Krong + Mol Kamach. Edition of 500.